Ir al contenido principal


"I’m from a nearby village called Paz del Rio, but I´ve been living in Sogamoso with my family for about twenty years now. I studied at the University of Bucaramanga as a graphic designer. Later, I wanted to learn English and therefore decided to go to Australia. At this time, my family thought I wouldn’t return. But when I came back to visit for a short period of time, I met the man who now is my husband, and I decided not to return to Australia but stay in Sogamoso, so I could be with him.
Another momentous event in my life was without doubt the birth of my son. Since I became a mother, I focused on being a good example for my son. I want to be an intelligent and independent person that achieves what they want and gets ahead. I want my son to see this in me, I want to be his guide so that in the end he is able to do the same. Besides that, since I´m working as an English teacher now, my goal is of course to help people struggling with this language, and one day I would love to have my own institute in Sogamoso.
I like it here because you can find everything you need, the people are very friendly and everything is so close and easy to access. Also knowing or learning about the city’s history is very important to us, so we like to go to the archeological museum, where we teach our son about or ancestors. Or we just go visiting one of the beautiful parks that Sogamoso offers and enjoy being with the family."

"Soy de un pueblo cercano que se llama Paz del Rio, pero hace más o menos veinte años que vivo en Sogamoso con mi familia. Estudié en una Universidad de Bucaramanga, soy diseñadora gráfica, después de esto decidí aprender inglés entonces, me fui a vivir a Australia donde aprendí inglés. En aquella época mi familia pensaba que yo no iba a regresar. Luego, regresé por una temporada, y conocí al que ahora es mi esposo, así que decidí no volver a Australia y quedarme en Sogamoso para poder estar con él.
Otra cosa muy trascendental que ha pasado en mi vida ha sido sin duda el nacimiento de mi hijo. Desde que fui mamá, me he enfocado en darle el mejor ejemplo a mi hijo entonces, yo quiero ser esa persona inteligente e independiente que puede lograr sus objetivos y puede salir adelante. Quiero que mi hijo vea ese reflejo en mí, que yo pueda ser su guía y él pueda hacer lo mismo. Además, yo como profesora de inglés, quisiera ayudar a más gente que tiene problemas con este idioma, entonces me gustaría en un futuro, poder tener mi propio instituto aquí en Sogamoso.
Me gusta la ciudad porque uno puede encontrar de todo, la gente es muy amable, todo queda muy cerca y es de fácil acceso. Para nosotros es importante conocer la historia de la ciudad, por lo que nos gusta ir mucho al museo arqueológico. Así podemos enseñar a nuestro hijo sobre nuestros ancestros. O también vamos a alguno de los parques bonitos que nos ofrece Sogamoso y disfrutamos en familia."

- Mónica


Entradas más populares de este blog


"I think people must assume I am some crazy guy who lives alone near the lake and who sails by himself, but since I’ve been doing it so long, I think people are used to it now. I’m a sailor, and am 59 years old. I am Colombian and was born in Brazil. I have an MBA from the University of the Andes. When you sail in Tota, anything can happen. The only thing that has not happened to me on the lake while sailing is that the mast has not broken on me yet - everything else has happened to me. I’ve lost the main sheet for the sailing once. I have even lost the small plug that prevents water from entering the boat, so while I was sailing I began sinking in the middle of the lake. I’ve capsized many times; 90 degrees and even 180 degrees. But the most difficult time I had on the lake was during a special phenomenon on Lake Tota where the fog descends and sits atop the lake, blanketing the entire lake in clouds of fog. You’re able to see the sky above you, but you can’t even see for mo


"I shared my childhood with my siblings and some cousins that lived close-by. It was cool, very different from how it looks like today because the children don’t play much anymore. In my case, when we lived in the eastern neighborhood, we went to the park every Sunday. Or we played on a little mountain close to my house. We used canisters to ride down the hill. That was so fun. And in August we build our own kites, played and enjoyed ourselves. Living out in the countryside teaches you a lot. It shaped me, taught me to be a kind and simple person, and not to get attached too much to material stuff. I graduated with honor, which was a big achievement for me and my family. I worked after that, but later decided to continue my studies and become a professional. One day I would like to have my own business. And I want to travel and experience. I feel like I am a very free person, so living in only one place just isn’t for me. But despite all this, I believe I will always miss