Ir al contenido principal


"I shared my childhood with my siblings and some cousins that lived close-by. It was cool, very different from how it looks like today because the children don’t play much anymore. In my case, when we lived in the eastern neighborhood, we went to the park every Sunday. Or we played on a little mountain close to my house. We used canisters to ride down the hill. That was so fun. And in August we build our own kites, played and enjoyed ourselves.
Living out in the countryside teaches you a lot. It shaped me, taught me to be a kind and simple person, and not to get attached too much to material stuff.
I graduated with honor, which was a big achievement for me and my family. I worked after that, but later decided to continue my studies and become a professional. One day I would like to have my own business. And I want to travel and experience. I feel like I am a very free person, so living in only one place just isn’t for me. But despite all this, I believe I will always miss my land and will never forget where I come from."

"Compartí mi infancia con mis hermanos y con algunos primos que vivían cerca. Fue muy chévere, muy diferente a los niños de hoy en día, porque ellos ya no juegan mucho. En mi caso, cuando vivíamos en el barrio el Oriente, siempre íbamos al parque los domingos. O jugábamos incluso cerca de mi casa porque quedaba sobre una loma, cogíamos tarros y los usábamos como carros, entonces nos lanzábamos con ayuda de estos. Era súper chévere. Además, en Agosto hacíamos nuestras propias cometas, jugábamos y nos divertíamos mucho.
Vivir en el campo te enseña mucho; es lo que me ha formado como persona, me ha enseñado a ser una persona amable, sencilla y a no apegarme a las cosas materiales.
Me gradué con honores, lo cual fue muy satisfactorio para mí y mi familia. Estuve trabajando después, pero decidí seguir estudiando porque quiero terminar mi carrera y ser profesional. En un futuro me gustaría tener mi propia empresa. También quiero viajar y conocer. Siento que soy una persona muy libre y por eso no me gusta vivir en un solo lugar. Sin embargo creo que siempre extrañaré mi tierra y nunca voy a olvidar de dónde vengo."

- Esmeralda


Entradas más populares de este blog


"I think people must assume I am some crazy guy who lives alone near the lake and who sails by himself, but since I’ve been doing it so long, I think people are used to it now. I’m a sailor, and am 59 years old. I am Colombian and was born in Brazil. I have an MBA from the University of the Andes. When you sail in Tota, anything can happen. The only thing that has not happened to me on the lake while sailing is that the mast has not broken on me yet - everything else has happened to me. I’ve lost the main sheet for the sailing once. I have even lost the small plug that prevents water from entering the boat, so while I was sailing I began sinking in the middle of the lake. I’ve capsized many times; 90 degrees and even 180 degrees. But the most difficult time I had on the lake was during a special phenomenon on Lake Tota where the fog descends and sits atop the lake, blanketing the entire lake in clouds of fog. You’re able to see the sky above you, but you can’t even see for mo


"I’m from a nearby village called Paz del Rio, but I´ve been living in Sogamoso with my family for about twenty years now. I studied at the University of Bucaramanga as a graphic designer. Later, I wanted to learn English and therefore decided to go to Australia. At this time, my family thought I wouldn’t return. But when I came back to visit for a short period of time, I met the man who now is my husband, and I decided not to return to Australia but stay in Sogamoso, so I could be with him. Another momentous event in my life was without doubt the birth of my son. Since I became a mother, I focused on being a good example for my son. I want to be an intelligent and independent person that achieves what they want and gets ahead. I want my son to see this in me, I want to be his guide so that in the end he is able to do the same. Besides that, since I´m working as an English teacher now, my goal is of course to help people struggling with this language, and one day I would love